shotcrete mix design

shotcrete mix design

Postby harberconcrete on Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:24 pm

I have a potential shotcrete project where the customer has a mix design calling for a 6 sack mix with 1250 lbs of 3/8" coarse aggregate, and the balance of sand and water to = a cubic yard. I have very little experience with shotcrete but what I have done was with a 7 sack mix containing 800 lbs of 3/8". From others I have talked to the feedback has been 7 to 7 1/2 sack with 700 to 800 lbs 3/8.
Any feedback would be helpful.
Brad
harberconcrete

Re: shotcrete mix design

Postby smnstn on Sat Apr 04, 2009 1:20 pm

I see no replies to your inquiry, so I'll address it. You are making concrete volumetrically, so you need to be thinking in those terms. From your calibration information you have the ability to formulate mix designs by weight, but I'd convert them back to cubic feet to get ballpark settings on your volumetric gates.